Welcome to S.L.O.G.G.

Sussex League of Gentlemen Golfers

Dale Hill GC - 2019 winners

The 2019 winners - Dale Hill GC

Final:   Dale Hill GC 3.5  Nevill GC 1.5  at Chartham Park on Tuesday September 17th

Semi-Finals:  Nevill beat Haywards Heath 4-1 (at Dale Hill Old)
Dale Hill beat Copthorne 3-2 (at Haywards Heath)

Other 2019 Date:
Jamboree - Thursday, 26th September at Worthing

Pyecombe Golf Club

What is S.L.O.G.G.

The Sussex League of Gentlemen Golfers is an inter club 4 ball better ball golf competition for Male golfers over 55

Rules and Playing Conditions

Sussex League of Gentlemen Golfers

Inter Club Competition for Males 55 and over


Agreed for 2019 by Club representatives at the meeting at Pyecombe Golf Club 
Wednesday 24th October 2018.

Participating Clubs

2019: Chartham Park GC, Cooden Beach GC, Copthorne GC, Dale Hill GC, Dyke GC, Ifield GC, Ham Manor GC, Haywards Heath GC, Nevill GC, Piltdown GC, Pyecombe GC, Worthing GC

Objectives and Format of the League 2019

The Competition aims to provide:-
  1. Competitive handicap golf for males 55 and over at participating clubs during quiet times on the course in the summer months.
  2. The format of playing their own ball in a team environment - the format being four ball better ball match play.
An initial £20 entrance fee will be charged to each club and thereafter £20 annually.

The Competition
(To be played under the 2019 Rules of Golf)
Handicap 4 Ball Better Ball match play played between teams of 10 arranged in 5 pairs. Each match handicaps played from 90 percent of handicap difference from lowest handicap player (CONGU 2016).  White tees. Maximum competition Handicap - 18. All players to have “Competition handicaps” and can play for only one club.

The 2019 competition will be played out between 12 teams established into 3 leagues playing matches home and away. The number of holes up/down must be recorded on the results sheet for count back purposes if required. For example a 3 and 2 win counts as 3 holes up.
The fixtures and the composition of the leagues are as decided by lot at the meeting held at Pyecombe Golf Club on Wednesday 24th October 2018. The teams for each league will be drawn annually from separate pots to ensure fixtures change.

Points in games are 3 points for each pair winning, one point for a half in a game.
For example - a 5-0 win results in a 15 point to 0 point total, a 4-1 win results in a 12 point - 3 point total, a 3-2 win means 9 points for one team and 6 for the other. A draw, 2 and a half matches each, results in 7 points to each team. A 4 and half - half win gives 13 points to 1 point total and a 3 and a half - 1 and half win will score 10 points to 4 points.

League places will be decided
a) By total aggregate points, then if equal b) the aggregate match result (points) between the 2 sides and then if still equal c) the total number of holes up or down in all league matches.

League matches may be played on any weekday afternoon, but not a Cyril Blake or Gilbert Print match day, at any time between April and early August suitable to the home club but ideally when the course is normally underutilised.

The semi-finals to be played between 27 August and 3 September 2019
Semi-finals to be arranged when league winners and highest point scoring runner up are known and will be played at neutral venues.
The league winner with the highest points total will play the best runner up. The other league winners will play each other. Normally the two clubs who have the highest points will host the semi finals. Semi-finals venues can only be determined following identification of the 'final 4’ teams.
These clubs must be prepared to host a semi-final.
In the event of a tie on points and holes there will be a play-off by a nominated pair, who have played together that day, from each team until a hole is won.

This will be played at the course of the previous year winners, unless they have hosted a final in the previous 5 years. The 2019 final will be held at Chartham Park GC on Tuesday 17th September 2019 (reserve TBA). In the event of a tie on points and holes there will be a play-off by a nominated pair, who have played together that day, from each team until a hole is won.

Jamboree Day
A jamboree day for all clubs will be held on Thursday 26th September 2019 at Worthing GC.

Fixtures and Results
Clubs are requested to forward details of fixtures to Keith Turk as soon as they are organised for posting on the website.  Similarly it is the responsibility of both teams Captains to ensure that match results are forwarded by email and result sheet sent to Keith Turk (Chartham Park Golf Club) at k.turk@sky.com. Keith Turk will arrange for updated league tables and results to be posted on the web site.
Note   Pyecombe Golf Club has agreed to host the domain on their home club website.

Courtesy of the course – for matches only  not practice rounds.

Match fees levied to support after match fare will be £10 per head payable by all players. - No other fees may be charged. Host clubs should provide a minimum of sandwiches, cake and tea (or other fare) for each 4 ball within this price bracket. Players are encouraged to stay, socialise and support the home club.

The Future
After each season, Club representatives will meet and if necessary agree any changes or recommendations to the Rules. Each participating club will have one vote. A simple majority vote of those present will decide any action.

Present at meeting.
Andrew Chapman (acting Chairman), Keith Turk - Chartham Park GC– Voting (Fixture Secretary), – Voting, , Alan Davey – Pyecombe GC (Treasurer), Mick Lane – Cooden Beach – Voting, Terry Woods– Copthorne GC – Voting, Steve Williamson – Dale Hill GC – Voting, Malcolm Stalker – Dyke GC – Voting,– Voting, Richard Cowlard – Ifield GC – Voting, Alan Hayward-Haywards Heath GC Voting, Steve Mellor Nevill GC, Iain Hedley – Piltdown GC – Voting– Peter Fox – Worthing GC – Voting.    Also present but not voting – Nick Potkins – Worthing GC,– Richard Wilson Nevill GC,